Caron was a major rail depot that had a peak population of about 70 people in the 1930s and 40s.
It is located west of the Mullewa to Wubin road and is south of the town of
The Wongan Hills to Mullewa railway opened in 1915 and a dam was constructed to provide water for the steam engines. The dam was constructed using
horses and drays by a team of 50 men.
Train crews were changed at Caron because of the availability of water. Francis Garth Butler constructed a tank stand that held about 50,000 gallons of water.
In 1936 a refreshment room and bar were constructed but they burned down in 1949. Other facilities at the site included an engine turntable, railway barracks
and 4 cottages.
The introduction of diesel engines in 1957 meant that water was no longer required to operate trains. The town then declined and the last time we visited there
was just one remaining house.
A large bitumen catchment feeds water down into the dam and the dam is one of the few remaining roofed dams in W.A. The roof was added to
try and mitigate evaporation.
In the early 1920s the dam was found to be leaking so a deep trench was dug around the perimeter and filled with heavy clay. Since then there have been no more leaks.
The reserve is best visited in spring during wildflower season and a 1km walk trail is a good way for visitors to see some of the fauna and flora of the area.
Due to the roofing over the dam, it probably rates as one of the least picturesque dams that you are likely to visit.
Just south of the dam alongside the main road is the heritage listed Caron Coal Stage. This is the last remaining sign of the railway siding.
The name, Caron, is said to be from the Aboriginal language and means hailstone.
Best time to visit: