Konnongorring is 25km north of Goomalling on the Northam-Pithara Rd.
The town consists mostly of a large grain receival centre, a hall and a church.
The town was gazetted in 1897 and the name comes from the local Aboriginal language. It is said to be derived from
'Konno', a bulbous root that the Ballardong people used to roast and eat. Another suggestion on the name's origin is
that it means 'place of many smoker parrots'. A smoker parrot is more commonly known as a regent parrot.
Just south of the settlement is a former catholic church that is now a private residence. Originally called
St Michael the Archangel, it dates from 1929. It ceased to operate as a church in 1974.
The tiny town also boasts tennis courts and a football oval that are hidden away on the west side of the road south of town.
A volunteer fire fighting unit operates from a small building in town.
There is a good rest area near the hall and toilets are available.
PROBLEM PLAYING THESE ON FIREFOX?
Turn off Enhanced Tracking Protection
Click the shield icon left of the URL near the top left
Slide Advanced Tracking Protection to OFF
Gabby Quoi Quoi lookout.
BUILDINGS OF NOTE
State : Central Wheatbelt
Federal : Durack
Postcode : 6603
Website : Shire of Goomalling
Click on a thumbnail to see full sized picture.
Please note that using the https url will cause the photos not to show. To show photos use the standard http url.